Peace Corps and some funny quotes

Hello everyone,

Sorry for the lack of updates recently – I’ve been having problems with my camera and haven’t been able to take any pictures for a while.  So another picture-less post this will be.

This post is mostly an announcement about my Peace Corps status.  As many of you know, I was in the process of applying to the Peace Corps when I left the U.S. and was in the nomination stage.  I heard back from my recruiter and there is now the chance that I won’t be able to leave until around May of 2012.  So, I’ve decided to suspend my application.  I have one year to change my mind and they’ll keep all my information on file and I can pick up where I left off, but in the meantime I’m looking for a yearlong teaching position in China (perhaps Nanjing).  Gaining actual teaching experience will make me much more qualified for when I decide to re-apply to the Peace Corps, something I think I’ll do later in life rather than now.  But thanks to everyone for your support and I promise I’ll keep doing interesting things so you can have fun keeping up with me! 🙂

Now, to lighten this post up a bit, here are two of my favorite quotes since I’ve been here:

At my host aunt and uncle’s place: Host uncle: “Would you like anything to drink?  We have wine, rakı…?” Me: “No thanks, I’m good.”  “Beer?”  “Really, I’m fine.”  “What are you, Muslim or something?”  Everyone laughs, everyone is Turkish except me.  “Ok, I’ll have a beer.”  I think this really shows what Istanbul is like – yes, there’s the conservative, Muslim side, but there’s also the very liberal and modern Istanbul.  My host family is firmly in the later group of Turks.

Walking through the Egyptian Spice Market with my host mom.  We are ignoring all the shopkeepers yelling at us about their schtuff.  I hear from behind me, “I sell poison for mother-in-law!”  Hahaha, I almost wanted to turn around and see who this guy was and what he was selling (probably just spices).

Maybe you had to be there, but I thought these moments were pretty funny at the time.  Update to come soon about Büyükada, the largest of the Princes’ Islands, an hour ferry ride from Istanbul.

 

About swulbrec

I'm a recent college grad looking for outside the cubicle ideas.
This entry was posted in Peace Corps, Turkey and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peace Corps and some funny quotes

  1. mom says:

    Life plans are always changing.

  2. jpark says:

    Hahahaha, I like the mother-in-law one. I wonder if anyone actually turns around when the guy uses that phrase.

Leave a Reply

